2011 National Barrow Show Judging Contest Results

AUSTIN, MINN. (Sept 13, 2011) -- Winners in the 65th annual NATIONAL BARROW SHOW® Swine Judging Contest held Sept. 12th in Austin, Minn., were Texas Tech University of Lubbock in the senior college division; Black Hawk East, Kewanee, Ill., in the junior college division; and Dekalb County 4-H, Ill., in the junior division.

The winning team in each of the three levels of judging competition was awarded according to points accumulated in the contest. This year’s contest attracted 72 teams and 406 participants.

Senior College Division
Texas Tech University won first place in the senior college division with a score of 3035 points out of a possible 3250 points.

The Texas Tech team competed against 14 other teams in the university division. Members of this team, coached by Ryan Rathmann and Bryan Bernhard, included Clay Burson, Brandi  Capps, Jordan Clem, Kody Lucherk, Clay Morrison, Logan Pritchett, and Brady Ragland. 

Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., was second in the senior college division with a score of 3003 points. Coached by Matt Claeys, this team was comprised of Maria Crandell, Jenna Day, Brent Dunham, Jared Jacobs, Tegan Simmons, Courtney Smith, and Courtney Wesner.

Oklahoma State University of Stillwater, coached by Dr. Mark Z. Johnson, came in third with a score of 3002. University of Illinois, Urbana, finished fourth with 2993 and Iowa State University, Ames was fifth with a score of 2962.

Additional team placings in the senior college division were: Sixth – University of Nebraska, Lincoln, 2945; Seventh – Western Illinois University, Macomb, 2918; Eighth – Chico State University, Chico, Calif., 2913; Ninth – South Dakota State University in Brookings, 2884; and Tenth – Angelo State University in San Angelo, Texas, 2855.

Tegan Simmons, Purdue University, was the top individual of 116 competing in the university division with 624 points out of a possible 650. In second place with 618 points, representing University of Illinois was Chance Meeter. Picking up third was Stephanie Steffes, South Dakota State University, with a score of 617. Texas Tech contestant Brandi Capps along with University of Illinois contestant Lee Rincker and Texas Tech contestant Clay Burson finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively with a score of 614. The tie was broken on higher Total Reasons Score.

Senior college reasons awards were given to the top team and top five individuals. The Texas Tech University squad captured first with 930 points. The high individual in reasons was Tegan Simmons, Purdue University with a score of 193 out of a possible 200. Texas Tech contestants Clay Morrison and Brandi Capps finished second and third respectively both with a score of 190; in fourth Amanda vonForell, Iowa State University; and fifth was Chance Meeter, University of Illinois. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior College Division
Black Hawk East College, Kewanee, Ill., took home top honors out of 13 teams in the junior college division with a score of 2995 points out of a possible 3250 points.

Black Hawk East College is coached by Dan Hoge and Brian Arnold, team members were  Stephen Gentry, Jon Heaton, Jared Hoffer, Sam Mattingly, Jacee May, Nick Riecke, and Andrew Stockdale.

Redlands Community College, El Reno, Okla, finished second with a score of 2950. Redlands is coached by Tanner Winter and their team consisted of Tyler Boles, Brock Herren, Heath Link, Collin Listen, Matthew McKinley, Sierra Meyers, and Dalton Newell. Lake Land College, Matton, Ill., coached by Ryan Orrick was third at 2938. Casper College, Casper, Wy., was fourth with a score of 2919 and Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill., was fifth with 2918.

Additional team placings in the junior college division were: Sixth – Northeastern Junior College, Sterling, Colo., 2875; Seventh – Modesto Junior College, Modesto, Calif., 2851 Eighth – Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, Miami, Okla., 2820; Ninth – Fort Scott Community College, Fort Scott, Kan., 2783; and Tenth – Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill., 2756. 

The 104 contestants in the junior college division made for some stiff competition for top individual with Stephen Gentry of Black Hawk East coming out ahead with a total of 610 out of a possible 650 points. Right behind in second was Emily Limes of Lake Land College with a score of 609 and in a close third was Tyler Loschen, Lincoln Land Community College with 608. Finishing fourth and fifth with 606 points was Tyler Boles, Redlands Community College, and Adam Helregel, Lake Land College, in that order with the tie broken on total reasons score.

Black Hawk East College also took home high team reasons with a score of 895 points. High reasons individual was another tight race with Dalton Newell, Redlands Community College speaking the best set of reasons with a score of 186 points. Hot on his heels with scores of 185, Stephen Gentry, Black Hawk East and Jessie McClellan, Casper College, landing second and third respectively. Close behind was Dave Ammann, Lake Land College in fourth and Nick Riecke, Black Hawk East in fifth both with scores of 184. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior Division
Dekalb County 4-H, Ill., coached by Matt Dice, captured top honors in the junior division of the 65th annual NBS® Swine Judging Contest this year. There were 44 teams in the Junior Division from nine states which included Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Georgia, Oklahoma, Indiana,  Nebraska, Wisconsin, and Montana. The Dekalb 4-H team members Tracey Clifford, Lauren  Koeppe, Logan Rinehold, and Amber Shipe, accumulated 865 of a possible 975 points.
Earlham FFA #1, Iowa, finished second with 856 with teammates Paige Boston, Rachel Hoy, Cody Jimmerson, and Bryce Tiffany, coached by Charlie Fitzgerald. Thomas-Fay-Custer FFA, Thomas, Okla., under the guidance of Justin Kliewer came in third also with a score of 856. Gordon Central HS FFA, Ga., was fourth with 852 and Tri-Point FFA #1, Cullom, Ill., wrapped up fifth with 848 points. Ties were broken on highest total team questions.

The high individual in the junior division with a score of 302 out of 325 possible was Dustin Miller of Putnam County FFA, Ill. In second was Amber Shipe, of Dekalb 4-H, Ill., with a total of 301. With scores of 299, Holly Smith, Gordan Central HS, GA was third and Landon Johnson, St. Ansgar FFA, Iowa, placed fourth. Lucas Olson, South Hamilton FFA #1, Iowa, finished fifth with 298 points. Ties were broken on questions total.

The competition is held in conjunction with the four-day National Barrow Show® in Austin, Minn. This event is co-sponsored by Hormel Foods Corporation and the National Association of Swine Records.

Amanda Tiedemann

No comments:

Post a Comment