National Barrow Show judging contest results (revised)

Final revised results, updated Monday, Sept. 20
See complete results at

AUSTIN, MINN. (Sept 20, 2010) -- Top teams in the 64th annual National Barrow Show® Swine Judging Contest held Sept. 13th in Austin, Minn., were Lake Land College, Mattoon, Ill., in the junior college division; and El Reno FFA, El Reno, Okla., in the junior division. The winning team in each of the levels of judging competition was awarded according to points accumulated in the contest. This year’s contest attracted 77 teams and 439 participants.

Senior College Division
Western Illinois University won first place in the senior college division with a score of 2974 points out of a possible 3250 points. The WIU team competed against a near-record 16 other teams in the university division. Members of this team, coached by Mark Hoge, included Alex Beniot, Ross Fogle, Alex Mahoney, Jordan McGrew, Nathan Schmidgall, and Torie Schwartz. Texas A&M University, College Station, was second in the senior college division with a score of 2955 points. Coached by Cody Sloan and Jake Franke, this team was comprised of Cassidy Hayes, Webb Fields, Dustin Valusek, Kasey Lettunich, Caleb Wendt, Lance Bearb, and Joseph Rathmann. Iowa State University of Ames, coached by Jon DeClerck, came in third with a score of 2933. University of Illinois, Urbana, finished fourth with 2892 and Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., was fifth with a score of 2884.

Additional team placings in the senior college division were: Sixth – University of Minnesota, St. Paul, 2859; Seventh – University of Missouri, Columbia, 2825; Eighth –South Dakota State University in Brookings, 2816; Ninth – University of Nebraska, Lincoln, 2815; and Tenth – West Texas A&M University in Canyon, 2814.

Joseph Rathmann, Texas A&M University, was the top individual of 128 competing in the university division with 608 points out of a possible 650. In second place also with 608 points, representing Western Illinois University was Alex Mahoney. Lance Bearb, TAMU, picked up third, with a score of 601. WIU contestants Jordan McGrew finished fourth with a score of 599 and fifth at 598 was Torie Schwartz. Ties were broken on higher Total Reasons Score.

Senior college reasons awards were given to the top team and top five individuals. The Western Illinois University squad captured first with 934 points. The high individual in reasons was Joseph Rathmann, TAMU, with a score of 190 of 200 possible. Also scoring 190 in second place from WIU was Jordan McGrew. With scores of 189, in third was Cassidy Hayes, TAMU; in fourth Katie Maupin, University of Missouri; and fifth was Lynsee Shaffer, Purdue University. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior College Division
Lake Land College took home top honors out of 13 teams in the junior college division with a score of 3000 points out of a possible 3250 points. Coached by Jon Althaus, team members were James Schinbeckler, Clay Zwilling, Cody Lamle, Kurt Berg, Jordan Rauch, Carly Wesner, and Dillon Garver. Blinn College, Brenham, Texas, finished second with a score of 2913. Blinn is coached by Brant Poe and Brian Callis and their team consisted of Everleigh Hayes, Levi Moyers, Shelly Sutton, Darin Peters, Derek Patterson, Brent Cromwell, and Koltan Schaaf. Northeastern Junior College, Sterling, Colo., coached by Ben Cooley was third at 2904. Black Hawk East College, Kewanee, Ill., was fourth with a score of 2890 and Modesto Junior College, Modesto, Calif., was fifth with 2889.

Additional team placings in the junior college division were: Sixth – Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, Miami, Okla., 2875; Seventh – Fort Scott Community College, Fort Scott, Kan., 2866; Eighth – Casper College, Casper, Wyo., 2865; Ninth – Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill., 2836; and Tenth – Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill., 2808. The top individual of 107 contestants in the junior college division was Carly Wesner, Lake Land College, with a total of 608 out of a possible 650 points. Teammates Cody Lamle and James Schinbeckler were second and third with scores of 607 and 606. Brent Cromwell, Blinn College, finished fourth with 599 and Weston Charles, Northeastern Junior College, wrapped up fifth with a score of 598.

Lake Land College also had the high team reasons score of 948 points. High reasons individual Clay Zwilling bested LLC teammate Dillon Garver scoring 193 and 192 respectively. With scores of 190, Brad Mendes, Modesto Junior College, landed third and James Schinbeckler LLC finished fourth. In fifth with 188 was Levi Moyers, Blinn College. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior Division (4-H/FFA)
El Reno FFA, coached by Bob Listen, captured top honors in the junior division of the 64th annual NBS® Swine Judging Contest this year. There were 47 teams in the Junior Division from nine states which included Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Georgia, Oklahoma, Indiana, Nebraska, Wisconsin, and Montana. The El Reno FFA team members Brock Herren, Collin Listen, Brianna Robinson, and Jordan Jensen accumulated 967 of a possible 1050 points. Western Boone 4-H, Lebanon, Ind., finished second with 948. Stephen Gentry, Jason Hieston, Chase Cunningham, and Sam Mattingly are coached by John Mattingly. Keota FFA, Keota, Iowa, under the guidance of Dan Striegal came in third with a score of 946. Gordon County 4-H, Ga., was fourth with 933 and Big Timber 4-H, Mont., wrapped up fifth with 932 points.

The high individual in the junior division with a score of 334 out of 350 possible was Collin Listen of El Reno FFA. Patrick Frank, Keota FFA, was second with a total of 325. With scores of 324, Brock Herren, El Reno FFA was third and Stephen Gentry, Western Boone 4-H, placed fourth. Leo Kruse, Osage FFA, Iowa, finished fifth with 320. Ties were broken on questions total. The competition is held in conjunction with the four-day National Barrow Show® in Austin, Minn. This event is co-sponsored by Hormel Foods Corporation and the National Association of Swine Records.

P.O. BOX 367
AUSTIN, MN 55912-0367

A. J. Shute

No comments:

Post a Comment